联邦法律规定,婴儿提篮和摇篮要 符合婴儿摇篮和摇篮标准以及其它 要求,包括2008年《美国消费品 安全改进法》中的要求。

在婴儿提篮和摇篮经由美国消费品 委员会认可的第三方实验室检测 合规后,其生产商和进口商必须 经由儿童产品证书,该婴儿摇篮和摇篮 符合标准和其它要求。下文和

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站讨论这些要求。

什么是婴儿提篮和摇篮? 

婴儿提篮和摇篮是主要为婴儿睡眠而设的小床,由自立的 床腿支撑,有一个固定的框架/支架,轮底座或摇动底座, 或可以在固定基座上摇摆。在静止(不摇摆)状态时,婴儿 提篮/摇篮提供的睡眠平台与水平面的夹角必须为10度或 10度以下 。

该标准也包括作为游戏围栏或非全尺寸婴儿床配件的婴儿摇篮的要求。这些配件必须既符合婴儿提篮和摇篮标准,也符合其主要产品标准,如游戏围栏或非全尺寸婴儿床。

婴儿提篮和摇篮 标准的目的是什么? 

该标准旨在最大限度减少与使用婴儿提篮和摇篮相关的死伤,包括与婴儿跌倒、卡住或者结构和设计有关的问题。

我在哪里可以找到婴儿提篮和摇篮的标准? 

该标准发表在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1218中。该标准参考并吸纳了美国试验和材料学会标准ASTM F2194-13,并有一些修改。ASTM F2194-13,《有关婴儿提篮和摇篮的标准消费者安全规范》包含所需检测的具体要求和说明,可以从ASTM国际标准组织购买。

什么是婴儿提篮和摇篮的要求? 

美国试验和材料学会(ASTM)标准包括对婴儿提篮和摇篮性能的具体要求、一般性能要求以及标识要求。美国试验和材料学会(ASTM)有关婴儿提篮和摇篮标准的关键性条款包括如下:

坚硬部件/织物面一侧封闭开口间的距离—旨在防止卡在细木条或织物面一侧下方其它坚硬部件之间。

  • 静止状态负载—旨在确保产品在结构上足以支撑预期使用者。
  • 稳定性—旨在防止兄弟姐妹在向摇篮里看时,发生使其翻倒的事件。
  • 睡垫的厚度和尺寸—旨在防止睡垫和织物的非坚硬面之间或者和网孔婴儿提篮之间的空隙造成的窒息或因窒息导致的死亡。
  • 单面高度—旨在防止从产品上跌落。
  • 分段床垫的平整度—旨在防止使用者面部朝下趴在分段床垫连接处时窒息而死。
  • 摇晃/摆动角度—对于那些摆动或摇晃的产品,此要求旨在防止因摆动角度造成身体被卡住。
  • 警告—旨在警示看护者在使用婴儿提篮和摇篮时小心婴儿跌落和窒息的危险。
  • 易燃性—旨在确保产品符合《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1610的易燃性要求。

美国试验和材料学会(ASTM)的标准还包括:(1)禁止小零部件的要求;(2)禁止危险锋利尖端和边缘的要求;(3)意外折叠的要求;(4)永久性和粘附标签的要求;(5)玩具配件符合ASTM F963 玩具安全标准的要求;(6)对剪切、绞切、挤夹的要求;(7)对角柱的要求;(8)对扣锁的要求;(9)有关婴儿提篮作为游戏围栏或非全尺寸婴儿床配件的要求;(10)约束装置的限制要求;(11)对开口的要求;(12)对保护性零部件的要求,以及(13)对警示和说明文字的要求。

《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1218还包对含美国检测和材料协会(ASTM)标准的修改。修改包括以下内容:

  • 对于分段床垫平整度检测的角度限制的修改。联邦标准限制倾角不得超过10度。
  • 澄清双模式/组合产品应符合与使用模式相关的两项(或者所有)标准要求。
  • 修改了稳定性检测程序,使其更严格,更好地反映产品的使用。
  • 一项处理与产品稳定性相关危害的新规定和检测程序。这种产品设计上带有有底座或者无底座的可拆卸的婴儿提篮床 。

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对婴儿提篮和婴儿床还有哪些其它要求? 

婴儿提篮和摇篮还受到表面涂层、铅和邻苯二甲酸酯的含量、检测和认证、登记卡以及追踪标签要求的管控。下文和www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站讨论这些要求。

表面涂层限制:婴儿提篮和摇篮使用的油漆,其铅含量不得超过90ppm (0.009%)。

铅含量限制:婴儿提篮和摇篮的任何可接触零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。

邻苯二甲酸酯含量限制:婴儿提篮和摇篮的增塑剂部件中不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,婴儿提篮和摇篮的增塑剂部件还不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯,只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。

检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计和作为主要使用者的产品一样,婴儿提篮和摇篮必须经过消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室的检测,确保产品符合婴儿提篮和摇篮标准,以及所有其它适用的儿童产品安全要求。在这个检测基础上,婴儿提篮和摇篮的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具一份儿童产品证书,具体说明每一项适用要求,并证明该产品符合这些要求。

产品和外包装标签要求:耐用婴幼儿产品,如婴儿提篮和摇篮,必须在商品和外包装上永久性地标出具体的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,耐用婴幼儿产品须具有额外的产品标识和一张附在产品上的产品登记卡这张图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体标签和登记要求。

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 如果需要更多婴儿提篮和摇篮规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

要购买ASTM F2194-13文本,请联系ASTM国际标准组织:www.astm.org或致电: 

(610) 832-9585 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that bassinets and cradles comply with the bassinets and cradles standard and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

Manufacturers and importers of bassinets and cradles must certify in a Children's Product Certificate that the bassinet or cradle complies with the standard and the additional requirements after the bassinets and cradles have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory. These requirements are discussed below and at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

What are bassinets and cradles?

A bassinet/cradle is a small bed designed primarily to provide sleeping accommodations for infants that is supported by freestanding legs, a stationary frame/stand, a wheeled base or a rocking base, or that can swing relative to a stationary base. While in a rest (non-rocking) position, a bassinet/cradle is intended to have a sleep surface less than or equal to 10 degrees from horizontal.

This standard also includes requirements pertaining to bassinets that are accessories to play yards or non-full-size cribs.  These accessories must meet both the bassinet and cradle standard in addition to the standard for the primary product, like a play yard or non-full-size crib.

What is the purpose of the bassinets and cradles standard?

The standard seeks to minimize the risk of deaths and injuries associated with the use of bassinets and cradles, including those related to infant falls, entrapment, or structural and design problems. 

Where can I find the standard for bassinets and cradles?

The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1218. The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F2194-13, with some modifications.  ASTM F2194-13, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Bassinets and Cradles, contains the specific requirements and descriptions of the required tests and can be purchased from ASTM International.

What are the requirements for bassinets and cradles?

The ASTM standard includes performance requirements specific to bassinets and cradles, general performance requirements, and labeling requirements. The key provisions of the ASTM bassinets and cradles standard include the following:

  • Spacing of rigid components/fabric-sided enclosed openings – intended to prevent entrapment between slats or other rigid components that are under the fabric sides.
  • Static load – intended to ensure the product is structurally sufficient to hold the intended occupant.
  • Stability – intended to address incidents where a sibling, looking into the bassinet, might tip it over.
  • Sleeping pad thickness and dimensions – intended to prevent suffocation or asphyxiation as a result of gaps between the sleeping pad and non-rigid sides of a fabric or mesh bassinet.
  • Side height – intended to prevent falls from the product.
  • Flatness of segmented mattresses – intended to prevent asphyxiation of an occupant lying face down in a segmented mattress joint.
  • Rock/swing angle – for products that swing or rock, this requirement is intended to prevent entrapment due to the swing angle. 
  • Warnings – intended to alert the caregiver to infant fall and suffocation hazards when using bassinets and cradles.
  • Flammability – intended to ensure the product meets the flammability requirements of 16 CFR Part 1610

The ASTM standard also includes: (1) requirements prohibiting small parts; (2) requirements prohibiting hazardous sharp points and edges; (3) unintentional folding requirements; (4) requirements for the permanency and adhesion of labels; (5) requirements for toy accessories to meet ASTM F963 Toy Safety standard (6) scissoring, shearing, or pinching requirements, (7) corner post requirements, (8) requirements for fasteners, (9) requirements pertaining to bassinets that are accessories to play yards or non-full-size cribs, (10) restriction requirement for restraints, (11) openings requirements, (12) protective components requirements and (13) requirements for warnings and instructional literature.

The regulation at 16 CFR Part 1218 also contains modifications to the ASTM standard. The modifications include the following:

  • A change in the angle limitation for the segmented mattress flatness test. The federal standard limits the allowable angle to 10 degrees.
  • A clarification that dual mode/combination products shall meet the requirements of both (or all) standards associated with the use modes.
  • A modification to the stability test procedure to make it more stringent and representative of the use of the product.
  • A new requirement and test procedure to address the hazards associated with the stability of products that have removable bassinet beds that are designed to be used with or without the base.

What are the additional requirements for bassinets and cradles required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Bassinets and cradles are also subject to requirements for surface coatings, lead and phthalate content, testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking labels. These requirements are discussed below and at:www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

  • Surface Coating Limit: Bassinets and cradles must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Bassinets and cradles must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Plasticized components of bassinets and cradles must not contain more than 0.1 percent of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP). Plasticized components of bassinets and cradles also must not contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Bassinets and cradles, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory for compliance with the bassinets and cradles standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of bassinets and cradles must issue a Children's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
  • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as bassinets and cradles, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chart summarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet.

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for bassinets and cradles, contact the U.S. CPSC:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

To purchase copies of ASTM F2194-13, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance