一般服装的易燃性标准的目的是什么?

 

该规定旨在将危险易燃纺织品和使用这些纺织品制成的服装排除在市场之外。本标准为提供服装和供服装使用的纺织品的易燃性提供检测方法,以燃烧速度为基础,将其分为三类易燃等级。这个最低标准具体说明了第三类纺织品是最危险的易燃面料,由于燃烧快速剧烈,不适合用于制作服装。

在哪里可以找到服装易燃性要求? 

 

本法规公布于《联邦法规》中的 Title 16, Part 1610。

 

什么是服装制品? 

 

服装制品包括人们穿着的衣物。本标准适用于成人和儿童服装使用的所有纺织物。大多数儿童睡衣还必须符合更严格的易燃性要求。大多数帽子、手套、鞋、以及衬里和服装外层之间的面料无需符合本标准。

 

如何对面料和服装进行检测,以确保它们符合易燃性标准? 

 

鉴于规定中细节繁多,下文是检测要求的一般性概述。欲获取有关检测设备和程序、选取样本和其它要求的更多细节信息,请参阅规定本身,或者与合规办公室联系。每个检测使用5个2英寸×6英寸的样本。在干洗和洗涤前后对样品进行检测。将样品按规定中指定的方法放置在检测箱的样品架上。

 

表面起毛的纺织面料,如雪尼尔、抓毛绒和毛巾布在检测前需被梳理平整。在样本经过处理后(炉中干燥和冷却干燥),每个样品以45度角放在检测箱中。样品下部表面(不是边缘)暴露在瓦斯火焰中一秒钟。让样本持续向上燃烧,直到火焰烧断停止线,释放砝码,停止定时器或者熄灭。

为了得出火焰蔓延的时间,将5个样品计时器停止的时间平均一下。如果表面平整面料的时间少于3.5秒或表面起毛面料的时间少于4秒,或者如果样品完全不燃烧,或者如果只有一个样品有燃烧时间,就检测第二组5个样品。检测第二组样品时,火焰蔓延的时间是所有10个样品的平均值。

根据火焰蔓延时间,本法规确立了三类易燃性。 

 

 

 

  1. 第一类面料在表面平整面料上的火焰蔓延时间为3.5秒或以上,在表面起毛面料上超过7秒,或在表面起毛面料上为0-7秒,而且基底面料不会着火或熔化(通常当表面起毛面料的抓绒表层出现“表面闪燃”)。第一类面料表现出正常的易燃性,可以在服装上使用。
  2. 第二类面料只适用于表面起毛面料。第二类面料的火焰蔓延时间在4秒到7秒之间,基底面料可以点燃或熔化。这类面料表现出中等易燃性,可以用于制造服装。但是,使用第二类面料生产服装时应保持谨慎,因为这些面料的特点能够造成其易燃性检测的结果有所不同。
  3. 3.     第三类面料在表面平整面料上的火焰蔓延时间不到3.5秒,在表面起毛面料上不到4秒,基底面料可以由于火焰引子而熔化或者燃烧。第三类面料燃烧快速、剧烈,易燃,很危险。不得将第三类面料用于服装。

 

可能被列入第二类或第三类的面料包括纯人造丝或丝、人造丝雪尼尔、反抓绒或棉绒或者棉混纺以及某些全棉毛巾布。

 

哪些面料一贯符合这些标准要求? 

 

多年易燃性检测显示,下列面料一贯通过第一类面料检测,为这些面料出具易燃性担保的公司可以获得合理和有代表性的检测要求豁免:
 

 

  1. 表面平整面料,无论纤维含量如何,重量为每平方码2.6盎司或以上;以及
  2. 完全由下列纤维或完全由这些纤维的混合物制成的所有面料(表面平整和起毛),不管重量如何:晴纶、腈氯纶、尼龙、烯烃、涤纶和羊毛。
     

服装生产商、进口商、分销商或零售商如何确定他们出售的面料或成衣不是危险易燃物? 

 

 

 

  1. 可以购买上述由豁免面料制成的织物或服装。
  2. 可以自己对面料(剪裁和缝制成服装前)或成衣自己进行合理和有代表性的检测。
  3. 可以从出具符合易燃性要求担保的供应商处购买面料或服装。想要出具担保,供应商必须对担保涵盖的每一个物品进行合理和有代表性的检测,而且必须保留支持担保这些检测的记录(上述豁免面料除外)。请参考规定获取更多有关担保和记录保存要求的细节信息。我们建议任何依赖担保的人采取步骤,确认出具担保的供应商的确对所担保产品进行了检测,也定期确认适当的检测在持续进行。

 

还有有关服装的其它要求吗? 

 

有。美国联邦贸易委员会有适用于服装的标签法。联络美国联邦贸易委员会或者登录http://www.ftc.gov以获取更多信息。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多服装规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

 

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

What is the purpose of the general wearing apparel flammability standards?

The purpose of this regulation is to keep dangerously flammable textiles and garments made of these textiles out of commerce. The standard provides methods of testing the flammability of clothing and textiles intended to be used for clothing by classifying fabrics into 3 classes of flammability based on their speed of burning. This minimum standard specifies that Class 3, textiles, the most dangerously flammable fabrics, are unsuitable for use in clothing because of their rapid and intense burning.

 

Where can I find the requirements for clothing flammability?

The regulations are published in the Code of Federal Regulations in Title 16, Part 1610.

 

What is considered wearing apparel?

Wearing apparel includes any costume or article of clothing that people wear. The standard applies to all textiles used in adult and children’s wearing apparel. Most children’s sleepwear must also meet more stringent flammability requirements. Most hats, gloves, footwear, and fabrics used between the linings and outer fabrics of garments are not required to meet this standard.

 

How do you test fabrics or garments to ensure that they comply with the flammability standard?

Because of the detail in the regulation, the following is a general overview of the testing requirements. For more detailed information about the test equipment and procedure, selecting specimens, and other requirements, please refer to the regulation or contact the Office of Compliance.

Brushing Device

Five specimens measuring 2-inches by 6-inches are used for each test. The specimens are tested before and after dry cleaning and washing. The specimens are mounted in a specimen holder and placed in the test cabinet as specified in the regulations.

Textiles with raised fiber surfaces, such as chenille, fleece, and terry cloth are brushed prior to testing. After specimens are conditioned (oven dried and desiccator cooled), each specimen is placed in the test cabinet at a 45 angle. The lower surface of the specimen (not the edge) is exposed to a gas flame for one second. The specimen is allowed to burn upward until the flame burns through the stop cord releasing the weight and stopping the timer or extinguishes

Testing Cabinet

To arrive at the time of flame spread, average the times at which the timer stopped for all five specimens. If that time is less than 3.5 seconds for plain surface fabrics or less than 4 seconds for fabrics with a raised fiber surface, or if the specimens do not burn at all, or if only one specimen has a burn time, test a second sample of five specimens. When a second sample is tested, the time of flame spread is the average of the times for all 10 specimens tested.

The regulation establishes three classes of flammability based on the time of flame spread

  1. Class 1 textiles have a flame spread time of 3.5 seconds or more for plain surface fabrics, of more than 7 seconds for raised surface fabrics, or 0-7 seconds for raised surface fabrics with no ignition or melting of the base fabric (generally when the fuzzy surface fibers of raised fiber fabrics exhibit a "surface flash"). Class 1 textiles exhibit normal flammability and are acceptable for use in clothing.
  2. Class 2 applies only to fabrics with raised fiber surfaces. Class 2 textiles have a flame spread time from 4 to 7 seconds inclusive, and a base fabric that ignites or melts. These fabrics exhibit intermediate flammability, and may be used in clothing. However, you should use caution when you make garments from Class 2 fabrics because the characteristics of those fabrics can cause their flammability test results to vary.
  3. Class 3 textiles have a flame spread time of less than 3.5 seconds for smooth plain surface fabrics, and less than 4 seconds for raised surface fabrics with a base fabric that melts or burns from other than the igniting flame. Class 3 textiles exhibit rapid and intense burning and are dangerously flammable. You cannot use Class 3 textiles in clothing.

Fabrics likely to be classified as Class 2 or Class 3 textiles include sheer rayon or silk, rayon chenille, reverse fleece or sherpa of cotton or cotton blend, and certain cotton terry cloth.

 

Which fabrics consistently meet the requirements of this standard?

Years of flammability testing has shown that the following fabrics consistently pass as Class 1 textiles and are exempt from the reasonable and representative testing requirements for firms issuing a flammability guaranty on these fabrics:

  1. plain surface fabrics, regardless of fiber content, weighing 2.6 ounces per square yard or more; and
  2. all fabrics (both plain surface and raised-fiber surface) regardless of weight, made entirely from any of the following fibers or entirely from a combination of these fibers: acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, olefin, polyester, and wool.

 

How can garment manufacturers, importers, distributors, or retailers be sure that the fabrics or garments they sell are not dangerously flammable?

  1. You can purchase fabrics or garments made from the exempt fabrics listed above.
  2. You can conduct reasonable and representative testing yourself on fabric (before cutting and sewing it into garments) or on finished garments,
  3. You can purchase fabrics or garments from a supplier who issues a guarantee that they comply with these flammability requirements. To issue a guarantee, a supplier must conduct reasonable and representative tests on each item that the guarantee covers, and must maintain records of the tests that support the guarantee (except for exempt fabrics listed above). Please refer to the regulation for more detailed information on guarantees and record keeping requirements. We recommend that anyone relying on a guarantee take steps to confirm that the supplier issuing the guarantee has in fact tested the guaranteed product, and also to confirm periodically that appropriate testing continues.

 

Are there any other requirements for wearing apparel?

Yes. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has labeling laws that apply to wearing apparel. Contact the FTC athttp://www.ftc.gov for more information.

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for clothing textiles, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

 

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance