联邦法律规定,床边婴儿床要符合床边婴儿床标准和其它 要求,包括2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》中的要求。

 

在床边婴儿床经由美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验 室检测合规后, 床边婴儿床的生产商和进口商必须经由 儿童产品证书认证其产品符合标准和其它要求。下文和

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站讨论这些要求。

 

什么是床边婴儿床? 

 

床边婴儿床是一个可以固定到成人床边上的固定的框架组合, 目的是为婴儿提供一个睡眠环境。

 

床边婴儿床的固定框架组合,可能与一种织物或网孔组合, \或二者兼具,用于床边婴儿床的侧面、末端或底部。

 

床边婴儿床标准的目的是什么? 

 

该标准旨在最大限度减少与使用床边婴儿床相关的死伤的风险, 包括与卡住和窒息相关的危险、与结构完整性和产品组装有关以 及与缺乏正确使用该产品的消费者教育有关的危险。

 

我在哪里可以找到床边婴儿床的标准? 

 

该标准发表在《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1222中。该标准参考并吸纳了美国试验和材料学会标准ASTM F2906-13,并有一些修改。ASTM F2906-13,《床边婴儿床标准消费者安全规范》包含幼儿床检测的具体要求和说明,可以从ASTM 国际标准组织处购买。

 

除了符合床边婴儿床标准,产品还必须符合ASTM F2194,《婴儿提篮和摇篮标准消费者安全规范》中列出的具体要求和检测。ASTM F2194也可以从ASTM International处购买。

 

床边婴儿床的要求是什么? 

 

美国试验和材料学会(ASTM)标准包含床边婴儿床的性能要求,包括具体性能、检测和标识要求。美国检测和材料协会(ASTM)床边婴儿床主要条款包括以下内容;

 

  • 符合ASTM F2194,《婴儿提篮和摇篮标准消费者安全规定》,确保产品符合睡眠环境的基本安全要求(窒息、稳定性、小零部件、挤夹、剪切、意外折叠、载重、边高和尖锐的边。)

 

  • 多种模式产品—在其它产品模式和配置下使用时预防安全危害(游戏围栏、婴儿提篮、换尿布台,或手持婴儿篮。)

 

  • 放低一侧的最低边高—确保使用者安全地保持在其中。

 

  • 产品解体—确保附件使婴儿安全保持在床内,防止卡住危险。

 

  • 织物面可封闭开口—旨在预防卡住和窒息危害。

 

  • 床边婴儿床附件(睡眠平面塌陷/倾斜)— 防止因缺少主要结构性元素的错误组装床边婴儿床附件而造成窒息和卡住。

 

  • 警告—旨在警示看护人在使用床边婴儿床时可能发生的婴儿坠落、卡住和窒息危害。

 

在检测ASTM F2194时,《联邦法规》16 C.F.R. part 1222也包含ASTM F2906-13的一些修正,以符合婴儿提篮标准(联邦法规16 C.F.R. part 1218)的修正。这些修正包括以下内容:

 

  • 分段床垫平面检测中角度限制的修改。联邦标准的限制允许10度倾角。

 

  • 稳定性检测程序的修改,使其更加严格并适用于该产品。

 

  • 一项新规定和检测程序,防止带有可拆卸摇篮床产品的稳定性风险。

 

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对床边婴儿床有什么其它要求? 

 

床边婴儿床受表面涂层、铅和邻苯二甲酸酯含量、检测和认证、登记卡以及追踪标签要求的管制。下文和www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站讨论这些要求:

 

表明涂层限制:床边婴儿床使用的油漆的铅含量不得超过90ppm (0.009%)。

 

铅含量限制:床边婴儿床任何可接触组合零部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。

 

邻苯二甲酸酯含量限制:床边婴儿床的增塑剂零部件(和可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其它材料制造的零部件)不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,床边婴儿床的增塑部件(和由可能含有邻苯二甲酸酯的其它材料制成的部件)也不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯,只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。 

 

检测与认证:和所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计和作为主要使用者的产品一样,床边婴儿床必须经过美国消费品安全委员会认可的第三方实验室的检测,确保符合床边婴儿床标准以及所有其它适用的儿童产品安全要求。在这种检测基础上,床边婴儿床的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具一份儿童产品证书,具体说明每一项适用要求,并证明该产品符合这些要求。

 

产品和外包装标签要求:耐用婴幼儿产品,如床边婴儿床,必须在商品和包装上永久性地标明具体的标签信息,包括追踪标签。此外,要求耐用婴幼儿产品具有额外的产品标识和一张附在产品上的产品登记卡这张图表总结了耐用婴幼儿产品必须符合的具体标识和登记要求。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多床边婴儿床规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

 

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

要获得ASTM F2906-13 and ASTM F2194文本,请联系ASTM国际标准组织:www.astm.org或致电:(610) 832-9585 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Federal law requires that bedside sleepers comply with the bedside sleeper standard and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

Manufacturers and importers of bedside sleepers must certify in a Children's Product Certificate that the bedside sleepers comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the bedside sleepers have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory. These requirements are discussed below and in greater detail at www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation.

What are bedside sleepers?

A bedside sleeper is a rigid frame assembly secured to an adult bed that is intended to provide a sleeping environment for infants.

A bedside sleeper’s rigid frame assembly may be combined with a fabric or mesh assembly, or both, and used to function as the sides, ends, or floor (or a combination thereof) of the bedside sleeper.

What is the purpose of the bedside sleeper standard?

The standard seeks to minimize the risk of deaths and injuries associated with the use of bedside sleepers, including those related to entrapment and suffocation hazards, structural integrity and product assembly, and a lack of consumer education regarding proper use of the product. 

Where can I find the standard for bedside sleepers?

The standard is published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 16 CFR Part 1222. The standard incorporates by reference ASTM F2906-13, with some modifications. ASTM F2906-13, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Bedside Sleepers contains the specific requirements and descriptions of the tests for toddler beds and can be purchased fromASTM International

In addition to complying with the bedside sleeper standard, the product must also meet the specific requirements and tests outlined in ASTM F2194, the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Bassinets and Cradles. ASTM F2194 can also be purchased from ASTM International.

What are the requirements for bedside sleepers?

The ASTM standard includes performance requirements for bedside sleepers, including specific performance, testing, and labeling requirements. The key provisions of the ASTM bedside sleeper standard include the following:

  • Compliance with ASTM F2194Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Bassinets and Cradles – to ensure products meet fundamental safety requirements for sleeping environments (suffocation, stability, small parts, pinching, shearing, unintentional folding, loading, side height, and sharp edges.)
  • Multimode product – to prevent safety hazards when used in other product modes and configurations (play yard, bassinet, changing table, or handheld carrier.)
  • Minimum side height on lowered side – to ensure safe occupant retention.
  • Product disengagement – to ensure that attachments provide safe occupant retention and prevent entrapment hazards.
  • Fabric sided enclosed openings – intended to prevent entrapment and suffocation hazards.
  • Bedside sleeper accessory (sleep surface collapse/tilt) – to prevent suffocation and entrapments from misassembly with bedside sleeper accessories from missing key structural elements.
  • Warnings – intended to alert the caregiver to infant fall, entrapment, and suffocation hazards when using bedside sleepers.

16 C.F.R. part 1222 also contained some modifications from ASTM F2906-13 to comply with the modifications of the bassinet standard (16 C.F.R. part 1218) when testing to ASTM F2194. The modifications include the following:

  • A change in the angle limitation for the segmented mattress flatness test. The federal standard limits the allowable angle to 10 degrees.
  • A modification to the stability test procedure to make it more stringent and applicable to the use of the product.
  • A new requirement and test procedure to address the hazards associated with the stability of products that have removable bassinet beds.

What are the additional requirements for bedside sleepers required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Bedside sleepers are subject to requirements for surface coatings, lead and phthalate content, testing and certification, registration cards, and tracking labels. These requirements are discussed below and atwww.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation:

  • Surface Coating Limit Bedside sleepers must not be painted with paint that contains more than 90 ppm (0.009 percent) lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Bedside sleepers must not contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of bedside sleepers must not contain more than 0.1% of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP). Plasticized components (and components made of other materials that may contain phthalates) of bedside sleepers also must not contain more than 0.1 percent of diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Bedside sleepers, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory for compliance with the bedside sleeper standard and all other applicable children's product safety rules. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of bedside sleepers must issue a Children's Product Certificate specifying each applicable rule and indicating that the product complies with those rules.
  • Product and Outer Package Labeling Requirements:  Durable infant or toddler products, such as bedside sleepers, must be permanently marked with specific labeling information, including tracking labels, on the product and on the packaging.  In addition, durable infant or toddler products are required to have additional product markings and a product registration card attached to the product.  This chart summarizes the specific labeling and registration requirements that durable infant and toddler products must meet.

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for bedside sleepers, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

To purchase copies of ASTM F2906-13 and ASTM F2194, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance