Release date: July 17, 1975
Release number: 75-050

Release Details

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission announces the appointment of 30 new members to the Commission's three advisory panels -- the Product Safety Advisory Council, the Technical Advisory Committee for Poison Prevention Packaging, and the National Advisory Committee for the Flammable Fabrics Act. The new representatives will replace members whose terms expired in June, 1975.

The new appointees represent consumers, industry and government. They will serve on the advisory panels for at least two years. The Commission selected the 30 individuals from over 500 applicants to reflect a diversity of backgrounds, professional experience and interests.

The Product Safety Advisory Council provides the Commission with advice on major policies and on approaches to particular issues and problems related to product safety.

Ten new members have been appointed to the Product Safety Advisory Council; a 15 member group comprised of 5 consumer representatives, 5 industry representatives and 5 government representatives.

The three new consumer representatives to the Product Safety Advisory Council are:

-Judy Braiman, President, Empire State Consumer Association, Inc., Rochester, New York

-Judy Jackson, Associate Professor of Law, Temple University Law School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

-Robert McEwen, S.J., Professor, Department of Economics Boston College, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

The three new industry representatives to the Product Safety Advisory Council are:

-James Cambell, International Import Director, W.T. Grant Company, New York, New York

-Myron S. Weinberg, Ph.D., Vice-President, Research and Development, Church and Dwight Company, Inc., New York, New York (small business representative)

-Lalit K. Sarin, Vice-President, The Black and Decker Manufacturing Company, Towson, Maryland

The four new government representatives to the Product Safety Advisory Council are:

-Audrey C. Gates, Assistant Director, Office of Consumer Affairs, Mayor's Office, New Orleans, Louisiana

-Silvio Patti, Senior Program Manager, Electrical/Electronic Systems Technology Center, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, U.S. Department of Labor, Washington, D.C.

-Mary Hawkins, Program Chief, Home Economics, Alaska Department of Education, Juneau, Alaska

-Maximilian0 Trujillo Gonzales, Assistant Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

The Technical Advisory Committee on Poison Prevention Packaging provides CPSC with advice on the administration of the Poison Prevention Packaging Act.

Five new representatives have been appointed to the Technical Advisory Committee; an 18 member panel composed of 8 consumer representatives, 8 industry representatives, one representative appointed by the Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare and one representative appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Commerce.

The four new consumer representatives to the Technical Advisory Committee are:

-Melisa Moriarty, Homemaker, San Diego, California. Mrs. Moriarty formerly served as Director of Health Services at San Diego City College.

-William Henderson, Ph.D, Chairman, College of Pharmacy, North Dakota State University, Fargo, North Dakota

-Richard Moriarty, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and Director of the Pittsburgh Poison Control Center, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

-Sara H. Newman, Chairman, D.C. Minimum Wage Board and Member, Board of Directors, National Consumer League, Washington, D.C.

The one new appointment representing the packaging industry is:

-John Ford, Assistant Director, Research and Development, Calmar Division, Diamond International, City of Industry, California

The Secretary of Commerce, Rogers C. B. Morton, has appointed Robert 0. Stone, of the Product Engineering Division of the National Bureau of Standards, to serve on the Technical Advisory Committee for Poison Prevention Packaging.

The National Advisory Committee for the Flammable Fabrics Act provides advice, opinions and recommendations to the Commission on flammability standards and regulations. Fifteen new representatives have been appointed to the National Advisory Committee, a 20 member group comprised of 10 consumer representatives and 10 industry representatives.

The five new consumer representatives to the National Advisory Committee are:

-Sara Bolieu, Director of Burn Prevention, Shriners Burns Institute, Galveston, Texas

-Emmett D. Condon, Fire Marshall, City and County of San Francisco, Deputy State Fire Marshall for California, San Francisco, California

-Mary Ann Campbell, Homemaker, Little Rock, Arkansas. Mrs. Campbell was formerly an Environmental Health Planner with the Arkansas Comprehensive Health Planning Administration.

-Marilyn Citron O'Rourke, Homemaker, Sacramento, California. Mrs. O'Rourke is the founder of "Mothers and Others", an organization concerned with the dissemination of information on flame-retardant fabrics.

-Ronald Ollstein, M.D., Chief of Plastic, Burn and Hand Surgery, St. Vincent's Hospital, New York Medical Center, and Jewish Memorial Hospital of New York, New York, N.Y.

The ten new industry representatives on the National Advisory Committee are:

-Robert S. Cohen, General Manager, Specialty Chemicals, Dover Chemicals (manufacturer of fire retardant chemicals), Dover, Ohio

-Wells Denyes, Washington representative for Eastman Chemicals Products, Inc. (manufacturers of man-made fibers and yarn), Washington, D.C.

-Aubrey L. Goodson, Jr., Vice-President and Director of Research, Dan River Co., Inc. (manufacturer of textile products including carpets, hosiery, etc.), Danville, Virginia

-John G. Heald, Division Manager Playwear, William Carter Company, (manufacturer of children's apparel), Needham Heights, Massachusetts

-Gabriel Hellman, President, United Piece Dye Works (dyeing and finishing industry), New York, New York

-John Lomartire, Technology Director, Fabric Safety, Monsanto Textiles Company, (manufacturer of textiles), New York, New York

-Donald Neumann, Steinberg and Neumann, Inc., representative agent for textile mills in import of fabric for home furnishings products, New York, New York

-Laurence H. Schongar, Sales Manager, Plastic Chemicals, Hooker Chemicals and Plastics Corporation, (manufacturer of fire-retardant chemicals), Niagara Falls, New York

-Peter K. Woodward, Technical Brand Manager Laundry Products, The Clorox Company (manufacturer of household products), Pleasanton, California

-Rosalie Zwain, Director of Consumer Affairs, J.M. Fields, Inc., (retailer), New York, New York

Individuals interested in obtaining further information on the advisory committees may contact the Office of the Secretary, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Washington, D.C., 20207. (202-634-7700).

Media Contact

Please use the below phone number for all media requests.

Phone: (301) 504-7908
Spanish: (301) 504-7800

View CPSC contacts for specific areas of expertise