

## U.S. CONSUMER PRODUCT SAFETY COMMISSION

4330 EAST WEST HIGHWAY BETHESDA, MARYLAND 20814-4408

Record of Commission Action Commissioners Voting by Ballot\*

Commissioners Voting:

Acting Chairman Ann Marie Buerkle

Commissioner Robert S. Adler Commissioner Elliot F. Kaye Commissioner Dana Baiocco

## ITEM:

Final Rule: Safety Standard for Booster Seats (Briefing package dated June 20, 2018, OS No. 4470)

## **DECISION**:

The Commission voted unanimously (4-0) to approve publication in the *Federal Register*, as drafted, a final rule concerning booster seats. Pursuant to section 104 of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008, the draft final rule would incorporate by reference the voluntary standard, ASTM F2640-18, *Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Booster Seats*, as the mandatory federal safety standard for booster seats. Additionally, the draft final rule would amend the Commission's regulation regarding third party conformity assessment bodies to include the mandatory standard for booster seats in the list of notices of requirements in 16 C.F.R. part 1112.

For the Commission:

Alberta E. Mills Secretary

\*Ballot Vote Due June 26, 2018