For additional information, contact Aux Sable toll-free at (866) 473-7612 any time or visit the propane alert website at www.PropaneGasAlert.com
State fire officials in some of the impacted states already issued notice to users in limited areas.
NOTE: Consumers should not attempt to test the propane gas themselves. In addition, if you smell even a faint odor of gas and suspect a gas leak:
- Leave the house immediately.
- Do not use your phone; Call your gas supplier or dial 911 for assistance from a neighbor's house.
- Do not light a match.
- Do not turn on a light.
- Do not switch on anything electrical.
This recall involves odorized propane gas delivered for storage tanks or sold in portable cylinders between February 25, 2010 and September 30, 2010. If the storage tank has been refilled or if the consumer has received additional propane since September 30, 2010, such propane is not included in this recall.
Consumers in the affected states whose most recent propane gas purchase or delivery was between February 25, 2010 and September 30, 2010 should immediately contact Aux Sable to arrange for a free inspection. If there is insufficient odorant, additional odorized propane or a replacement portable propane cylinder will be provided free of charge.
Propane retailers in the following states: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont and Virginia from February 25, 2010 through September 30, 2010.
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death associated with the use of thousands of types of consumer products under the agency’s jurisdiction. Deaths, injuries, and property damage from consumer product incidents cost the nation more than $1 trillion annually. CPSC is committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical or mechanical hazard. CPSC's work to help ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters and household chemicals -– contributed to a decline in the rate of deaths and injuries associated with consumer products over the past 40 years.
Federal law bars any person from selling products subject to a publicly-announced voluntary recall by a manufacturer or a mandatory recall ordered by the Commission.
To report a dangerous product or a product-related injury go online to www.SaferProducts.gov or call CPSC's Hotline at 800-638-2772 or teletypewriter at 301-595-7054 for the hearing impaired. Consumers can obtain news release and recall information at www.cpsc.gov, on Twitter @USCPSC or by subscribing to CPSC's free e-mail newsletters.
Please use the below phone number for all media requests.
Phone: (301) 504-7908
Spanish: (301) 504-7800