FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 8, 1974
Release # 74-076
Washington, D.C. (Nov. 8) -- The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission today announced that it has provisionally accepted a consent order prohibiting Lady Lovely Apparel, Inc., 2801 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, Utah 84115, from selling products which fail to meet the requirements of the Flammable Fabrics Act, as amended.
Specifically, the Commission found that certain styles of infant's gowns and toddler's pajamas, gowns and robes, manufactured after July 29, 1972, failed to meet the acceptance criterion of the Standard for the Flammability of Children's Sleepwear (DOC FF 3-71). The styles in question are as follows:
- Style #632-Baby gowns in sizes 61 12, 18 and 24 months;
- Style #6130-Toddler's pajamas for ages 3, 4, 6 and 6x;
- Style #6131-Toddler's gowns for ages 3, 4, 6, and 6x.
- Style #6132-Toddler's button robes for ages 3, 4, 6 and 6x.
Each of the garments has a cloth label sewn into the inside shoulder seam which has the style number written on the backside in pen or pencil. The label reads as follows:
LADY LOVELY 100% Nylon Tricot. EXCLUSIVE OF TRIM MACHINE WASH WARM. GENTLE. TUMBLE DRY. LOW. REMOVE PROMPTLY. DO NOT TWIST OR WRING, WASH DARKS SEPARATELY. RN 30896 [Age-Size]
All of the garments were made of 100% Nylon tricot and come in various colors including blue, pink, coral, lavender, yellow or white. The Commission knows of no other way to describe this sleepwear.
Most of the garments in question were sold in department stores in Idaho, Utah and California. Lady Lovely Apparel, Inc. has consented to notify customers who may have purchased the product and conduct a recall.
This announcement is made in the public interest in order to alert consumers of the sleepwear's failure to conform to the flammability standard.
The Complaint and Consent Order will remain on the public record from November 8 through January 6. Comments from the public received during this period will become part of the Public Record. The Commission may withdraw its acceptance of the Agreement after further consideration.
The Agreement is for settlement purposes only and does not constitute an admission by the respondents that they violated the law. When issued by the Commission on a final basis the consent order does carry the force of law with respect to future violations. A violation of such an order may result in a civil penalty up to $10,000 per violation being imposed upon a respondent.
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of injury or death associated with the use of thousands of types of consumer products under the agency’s jurisdiction. Deaths, injuries, and property damage from consumer product incidents cost the nation more than $1 trillion annually. CPSC is committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical or mechanical hazard. CPSC's work to help ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters and household chemicals -– contributed to a decline in the rate of deaths and injuries associated with consumer products over the past 40 years.
Federal law bars any person from selling products subject to a publicly-announced voluntary recall by a manufacturer or a mandatory recall ordered by the Commission.
To report a dangerous product or a product-related injury go online to www.SaferProducts.gov or call CPSC's Hotline at 800-638-2772 or teletypewriter at 301-595-7054 for the hearing impaired. Consumers can obtain news release and recall information at www.cpsc.gov, on Twitter @USCPSC or by subscribing to CPSC's free e-mail newsletters.
Please use the below phone number for all media requests.
Phone: (301) 504-7908
Spanish: (301) 504-7800