Release date: December 31, 1975
Release number: 75-075

Release Details

These five individuals will fill vacancies left by members whose terms expire December 31, 1975.

The Product Safety Advisory Council provides the Commission with advice on major policies and on approaches to particular issues and problems related to product safety.

The total membership of the Council is divided equally among representatives of consumers, industry, and government. The new appointees, selected from approximately 400 applications on file, will, serve on the Council for at least two years and are listed below according to category of representation.


Allen Saeks, Legal Counsel, Minnesota Public Interest Research Group (MPIRG), was reappointed to a full term--he has been serving out an unexpired term. Saeks has worked in areas of antitrust and product liability litigation.

Eliza Williams of Waterbury, Connecticut recently completed two years of service in VISTA. Williams, active in various local and regional health and welfare boards, provides community information and out-reach work with the Model Cities Program.


Alan L. Potter, is Chairman, Board of Directors of Frank R. Jelleff, Inc., a retail business specializing in women's clothing and accessories in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Potter, an attorney with background in business and chemistry, is a member of the American Retail Federation. William Hollingsworth from Stamford, Connecticut, is a safety compliance consultant to the Olin Corporation and a member of all the product safety committees within Olin. He is an attorney and a member of the Risk and Insurance Management Society.


William Hogan is the Deputy Commissioner (Chief Electrical Inspector) Bureau of Electrical Inspection, Chicago, Illinois. Hogan, responsible for the enforcement of the Chicago Electrical Code, wrote and sponsored Chicago's municipal code on product safety of electrical equipment and appliances.

For further information on this and other CPSC advisory committee-- the Technical Advisory Committee for Poison Prevention Packaging and the National Advisory Committee for the Flammable Fabrics Act --contact the Office of the Secretary, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Washington, D.C. 20207 (202/634-7700).

Media Contact

Please use the below phone number for all media requests.

Phone: (301) 504-7908
Spanish: (301) 504-7800

View CPSC contacts for specific areas of expertise