Boy with Helmet自行车头盔要求的目的是什么?

 

本法规为头盔设置了性能要求, 以保护骑自行车人摔倒或碰撞时 头部不受伤。不符合其中任何要求 的自行车头盔都违反了《消费 品安全法》。

 

 

我在哪里可以找到自行车头盔的要求? 

 

这些要求被公布在《联邦法规》 (C.F.R) in Title 16, Part 1203。可以从本委员会网站上https://cpsc.gov获取一份这些要求。
 

什么是自行车头盔? 

 

自行车头盔是在市场营销时作为保护骑车人在骑车时头部免于受伤的,或者营销或者促销时暗示能够提供这类保护的任何头部装置。如果头盔的推销和展示将其作为一般使用或在不同的具体用途中提供保护的物品,而不是为骑车所用,它仍然可被视作自行车头盔,条件是一位理性的消费者能从广告或促销中得出结论,骑车是该头盔所供用途之一。本法规§1203.4(b)的脚注1列出了在确定一个多功能头盔是否也属于自行车头盔的问题时,本委员会将考虑的因素。

 

是否有任何头盔可以获得自行车头盔要求的豁免? 

 

自行车头盔要求不包含那些特别以滑板、直排滑轮、棒球或滑轮曲棍球等一系列活动专属用途而营销的头盔。

 

哪些检测适用于头盔? 

  1. 头盔需经过检测,以确保不会阻挡骑车人视线(“周边视野检测”),
  2. 当骑车人摔倒时,不会脱落(“位置稳定性检测),
  3. 将头盔固定在骑车人头上的带子不会过度伸展,使头盔在事故中脱落 (“固位力检测”)
  4. 在头盔撞击到坚硬表面时,头盔能显著降低骑车人头部受力 (“冲击衰减检测”)。

 

每项检测的摘要详述如下 

 

如何准备头盔,以便检测? 

Bicycle Helmet

1. 对出售的每种型号的每一个尺寸,要求至少要检测8个头盔。头盔在出售时的状态下进行检测。头盔在具备或不具备生产商提供的附件进行检测时,必须符合本法规中的所有要求。

2. 所有检测都要求将头盔放在一个模拟骑车人头部的模型或模具上(“头模”)进行检测。对每项检测,将头盔放在最小的头模上,使头盔正确固定在头模上时,头盔内的垫片受到部分压力。有关为检测选择正确的头模,参见§§1203.9和10。

3. 按照生产商指定的检测位置,将头盔安放在头模上。本法规将其称为“头盔定位参数”。在头盔顶部加上11磅(5公斤)的重量,挤压内部的垫片。然后,使用本法规图4和图5,在头盔外部画一条线(“冲击力检测线”)。有关冲击力检测线的例子,参见(本法规图4)下文。头盔上处于这条线下方的任何点在冲击检测中都不得被撞击。

4. 在检测前至少4至24小时,将8个检测样品头盔暴露在使用和贮藏时可能遇到的不同种类的环境条件下。两个头盔放在正常室温和湿度下(环境条件)。两个在1° F和9° F (-17 °C 和 -13 °C )的低温中放置4到24小时。两个在117 °F 和127 °F (47 °C 和53 °C)的高温中放置同样的时间。两个在水中放置4到24小时。参见§1203.8获取有关这些有条件的程序的更多细节。

 

5. 在进行冲击衰减或保持强度检测时,被加热、冷却或浸泡在水中的头盔必须在从这些条件中移除后的两分钟之内进行检测。有关这项程序的更多细节,参见§1203.13(c)。

 

处于上述条件下的头盔是否有检测程序表? 

 

有。下面的图表显示每个头盔的不同检测。请注意,在冲击检测中列出的砧座是头盔在检测时必须摔在上面的不同的表面。砧座模拟骑车人摔倒时可能撞击到的表面,例如路面或者马路沿。参见本法规的§1203.17(a)(5)部分,了解不同砧座的尺寸和形状的更多细节。

 

Bicycle Helmet Chart

对头盔带子的保持强度检测有什么要求? 

 

在检测头盔冲击衰减之前,先按以上程序表对头盔样品1-4进行保持强度检测。将头盔放置到一个没有下颌部分的头模上,并将头模牢牢固定在一个装置上。将头盔带子系在一起,并且如图(下页)所示,将检测装备从带子处倒挂起来。正如你所看到,装置的一部分是由一根至少两英尺(0.6米)长的钢筋制成的,从一个滑动的8.8磅(4公斤)重的圆环中间穿过,底部装有一个砧座,在重圆环掉下来时停在上面。如下图所示,用标注系统或图中所示的传感器,或者其它方法,在带子的最下方做一个记号,这样可以记录带子在检测中可以伸展多长。将重圆环提起来两英尺,丢落到下面的砧座上,然后量一下带子在冲击中伸展了多少。

 

Bicycle Diagram
头盔什么时候能通过保持强度检测?

 

头盔上脱落,而且

  1. 如果带子在检测中不分开或从
  2. 带子伸展不超过​​1.2英寸(30毫米)

 

头盔就可以通过检测。

 

 

 

我如何对头盔进行冲击衰减检测——头盔撞击诸如路面或马路沿等物体时所遇到的力量? 

 

Bicycle Helmet Instrument

由于这项检测的复杂性,我们并没有试图在本摘要中囊括所有细节和检测程序。§1203.17条款包含更多具体信息。在每一系列检测前后,按照§1203.17的程序进行一次设备系统检查。要检测头盔,在用于检测的头模上放置一个衡量最大加速度的仪器,将头模放到一个单轨或导线检测装置上。参见下图。在检测中,当头模坠落时,此装置将头盔引导到砧座上。将头盔牢固地安装在头模上,使头盔在坠落时不会移位。调整头模和砧座,使头盔撞击砧座的区域是最可能达到最高加速度的区域。   

按照程序表(上一页),让每一个头盔坠落在适当的砧座上。坠落在平砧上的头盔必须以某个特定速度撞击砧座,大约20英尺/秒(6.2米/秒),这通常表示头盔必须坠落至少6 ½英尺(2米)。坠落在半球形或马路沿砧座上的头盔必须以大约16英尺/秒(4.8米/秒)的速度坠落,这通常意味着头盔必须坠落几乎4英尺(1.2米)。记录每一次撞击的最高加速度。让程序表上1到4号头盔坠落,每个坠落4次,两次落在平砧上,两次落在半圆形砧座上,使头盔每次撞击都落在你在头盔上画的撞击检测线上或检测线之上。确保每次撞击砧座的都是头盔的不同部位。也就是说,每次坠落后,必须调整头模。检测中撞击砧座的头盔任何部位的中心与已经在前一次检测中撞击砧座的任何其它点的中心之间的距离都不得少于4.72英寸(120毫米)。让5到8号头盔坠落到马路沿砧座上,使每个头盔都撞击在冲击检测线上或者冲击检测线之上。
 

我如何知道头盔是否没通过冲击衰减检测? 

 

如果在上述状况下接受检测的任何样品显示300克以上的最高加速度,则头盔就是没通过检测。

 

有没有任何要求涵盖头盔内部或外部凸起的部分? 

 

有。当用与头盔接受冲击衰减检测时同样的力量撞击时,从头盔外表面延伸出来的超过0.28英寸(7毫米)凸起必须分离或断开。头盔的内部表面不得有任何超过0.08英寸(2毫米)的凸起。

 

周边视野检测有什么要求? 

 

为了确保头盔不会阻碍骑车人侧面的视线,头盔必须让骑车人能够没有干扰地看到他/她面部中心任何一侧至少105°。参见§1203.14,获取有关头盔是否符合这项要求的检测的信息。

 

 

什么是保持头盔不会在摔倒时脱落的位置稳定检测? 

 

将有完整下颌设计的头模安置在检测装置上,使头模的面部呈向下45°。将头盔正确安置在头模上,系紧带子,不留任何松弛。在头盔后部用一个挂钩连接一根缆线或带子,把缆线或带子从头盔顶部的中间拉过去。将带子的另一端连接在一根至少2英尺(0.6米)长的钢筋制成的检测装置上。这根钢筋从一个8.8磅(4公斤)重的圆环中间穿过,最后落在底部砧座上,这个砧座在圆环坠落时挡住它。有关这个检测装置,参见下图。

 

将重圆环提升2英尺(0.6米),使其坠落到砧座上。在对头模的面部朝下进行检测后,把头模面部朝上再进行同样的检测。请参见§1203.15,获取有关这项检测的更多细节。

 

 

头盔什么时候能通过位置稳定检测? 

 

当重圆环从2英尺(0.6米)高度坠落到砧座时,头盔不得从头模上脱落。


 

对自行车头盔的说明书和标识有什么要求? 

 

1. 每个自行车头盔必须附有说明书,告知骑车人如何确保头盔合适,以及如何正确佩戴。说明书必须包括一张图片,显示正确的佩戴头盔方式。

 

2. 每个自行车头盔必须注明以下信息,使其可以识别并清晰可见:

Bicycle head form

  1. 型号或名称。
  2. 警告标识:头盔并不能防止所有可能的冲击,死亡或重伤都可能发生。
  3. 警告标识:为实现最大保护,头盔必须适合骑车人的头部尺寸,骑车人必须正确佩戴头盔,并按照生产商的说明,将带子扣好。这个警告标识也必须在头盔的外包装上。
  4. 警告标识:受到撞击的头盔可能受损严重,以至于不再能保护骑车人,这种损害可能无法用肉眼看到。这个警告标识应该告知使用者将受到此类撞击的头盔返还给生产商,或销毁和更换。
  5. 警告标识:常用清洁剂,例如氨水、漂白剂等可能损害头盔,而且这种损害可能肉眼无法察觉。这种警告标识应该列出最常见的清洁剂或其它可能损害头盔的产品,并警告不要使用这些清洁剂。还应该大致告诉消费者如何清洁头盔和使用何种清洁剂,并应该告知消费者参见说明书获得更多信息。

 

以上所有警示必须以黑体字“警告”开头。参见§1203.6获取更多有关标识要求的具体信息。

 

3.每个自行车头盔必须有标识,认证头盔符合这项标准的要求。标识必须包括:

 

  1. 有关头盔符合标准的具体声明;
  2. 出具认证书的生产商或进口商的名称、地址和电话号码,或头盔自有品牌商的名称、地址和电话号码;
  3. 如果头盔在美国本土外生产,外国生产商的名称和地址,以及
  4. 序列号等可以让你识别头盔生产批号和头盔生产年月的信息。

 

请参见§1203.34获取更多有关应该将标识贴在头盔何处的信息。

 

头盔认证的检测有什么要求? 

 

生产商和进口商出具的认证书必须基于合理的头盔检测计划。认证检测确保所有以销售为目的而生产的头盔能够有效发挥功能。如果进口商是美国居民或拥有美国居民代理,而且已经审查了外国生产商的检测记录,确认检测记录具备所有本法规§1203.41所要求的信息,而且进口商可以在本委员会工作人员提出要求的48小时内向本委员会提供这些记录,则进口商可以依赖外国生产商进行的检测,而不必自己检测头盔。
 

是否有保存记录的要求? 

 

有。生产商和进口商必须保存头盔的所有检测记录,以确定它们是否符合这些要求。以生产的每批自行车头盔中的最后一个头盔获得认证之时起,必须将这些记录保留至少三年。如果你在收到本委员会要求时无法提供记录副本,你必须在48小时内提供。请参见§1203.41获得记录中必须包含信息的更多细节。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多自行车头盔规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

 

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Boy with bicycle helmet

What is the purpose of the requirements for bicycle helmets?

This regulation sets performance requirements for helmets to protect bicycle riders from head injuries caused by falls or crashes. Bicycle helmets that fail any of the requirements violate the Consumer Product Safety Act.

 

Where can I find the requirements for bicycle helmets?

The requirements are published in the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R) in Title 16, Part 1203. You can obtain a copy of the requirements from the Commission's web site at:http://www.cpsc.gov

 

What is a bicycle helmet?

A bicycle helmet is any headgear marketed as protecting a bicycle rider from head injury while riding, or that is marketed or promoted in a manner that implies it provides such protection. If a helmet is marketed or represented as providing protection during general use or in a variety of specific uses other than bicycling, it is still regarded as a bicycle helmet if a reasonable consumer could conclude, from the marketing or promotion, that bicycling is among the uses for which the helmet is intended. Footnote 1 to §1203.4(b) of the regulation lists the factors the Commission will consider in making a determination whether a multi-purpose helmet is a bicycle helmet.

 

Are any helmets exempt from the requirements for bicycle helmets?

Helmets specifically marketed for exclusive use in an activity such as skateboarding, in-line skating, baseball, or roller hockey are not covered by the requirements for bicycle helmets.

 

What tests apply to helmets?

Helmets are tested to make sure that

  1. they do not block the riders vision (the "peripheral vision test"),
  2. they do not come off when the rider falls (the "positional stability test),
  3. the straps that hold a helmet on a rider’s head do not stretch enough to let the helmet come off in an accident (the “retention strength test”), and
  4. the helmet significantly reduces the force to the rider’s head when the helmet hits a hard surface (the “impact attenuation test”).

Each of these tests is summarized in detail below

How are helmets prepared for testing?

  1. Testing requires a minimum of 8 helmets of each size for each model helmet offered for sale. Helmets are tested in the condition in which they are offered for sale. Helmets must meet all of the requirements of the regulation when tested both with and without any attachments that the manufacturer offers.
  2. All of the tests require that you mount the helmet to be tested on a form or casting (a “headform”) that simulates a rider’s head. For each test, a helmet is placed on the smallest headform that lets the helmet’s sizing pads partially compress when the helmet is properly positioned on the headform. See §§1203.9 and .10 for more information about choosing the right headform for a test.
  3. Place the helmet on the headform in the position that the manufacturer specifies for testing. The regulation refers to this as the “helmet positioning index.” Put an 11-lb (5 kg) weight on top of the helmet to compress the padding inside. Then, using the diagrams in Figures 4 and 5 of the regulation, draw a line (the “impact test line”) on the outside of the helmet. See (figure 4 from the regulation) below for an example of an impact test line. Any point on the
  4. helmet below this line may not be hit during impact testing.Figure 4
  5. At least 4 to 24 hours before testing, expose the 8 helmet test samples to conditions that relate to the different types of environments that helmets may encounter in use and storage. Two helmets stay at normal room temperature and humidity (ambient conditions). Two are kept at cold temperatures between 1 °F and 9 °F (-17 °C and -13 °C) for 4 to 24 hours. Two are kept at hot temperatures between 117 °F and 127 °F (47 °C and 53 °C) for the same amount of time. Two are under water for 4 to 24 hours. Please see §1203.8 for more detail on these conditioning procedures.
  6. When tested for impact attenuation or retention strength, a helmet that has been heated, cooled or soaked in water must be tested within 2 minutes after it is removed from conditioning. See §1203.13(c) for more detail on this procedure.

 

Is there a schedule of testing for the helmets that have been conditioned as described above?

Yes. The chart below shows the different tests for each helmet. Please note the anvils listed in the impact test are the different surfaces on which the helmets must be dropped during the test. The anvils simulate surfaces like pavement or curbing that a rider who falls might hit. See §1203.17(a)(5) of the regulation for more detail about the sizes and shapes of the different anvils.

Bicycle Helmet Chart Regulations

 

What does the test for retention strength of helmet straps require?

Test helmet samples 1- 4 in the schedule above for strength retention before you test the helmets for impact attenuation. Attach the helmet to a headform that does not have a chin portion, and fasten the headform to a fixture that holds it firmly. Fasten the helmet straps together, and hang the test fixture as shown in Figure (next page) from the straps. As you can see, part of the fixture is made of a steel rod at least 2 feet (0.6 m) long that runs through the middle of a circular sliding 8.8 pound (4 kg) weight and ends in a bottom anvil that will stop the weight when it drops. Mark the lowest position of the straps, using the marker system or transducer shown in Figure below, or some other method that will record how much the straps stretch during the test. Raise the weight 2 feet, drop it onto the lower anvil, and measure how much the straps stretched during the impact.

Bicycle Helmet Diagram

 

When does a helmet pass the retention strength test?

A helmet passes the test

  1. if the straps do not come apart or detach from the helmet during testing, and

  2. the straps do not stretch more than 1.2 inches (30 mm).

 

How do I test a helmet for impact attenuation – the force that a helmet experiences when it hits an object such as pavement or a curb?

Because of the complexity of this test, we have not attempted to include all of the details and test procedures in this summary. The provisions of §1203.17 contain more specific information. Before and after each series of tests, perform an equipment systems check following the procedures in §1203.17. To test a helmet, place an instrument that measures peak acceleration in the headform to be used in the test, and attach the headform to a monorail or guide wire test apparatus. See Figure below. This apparatus guides the headform to the anvil when the headform is dropped during testing. Securely attach the helmet to the headform so the helmet will not shift position when it is dropped. Adjust the headform and anvil so that the area of the helmet that hits the anvil is the area most likely to reach the highest acceleration.

Bicycle Helmet Acceleration Instrument

Following the schedule (previous page), drop each helmet on the appropriate anvil. A helmet dropped on the flat anvil has to hit the anvil at a specific velocity, about 20 ft/sec (6.2 m/sec), which typically means that the helmet must drop at least 6 ½ feet (2 m). A helmet dropped on the hemispherical or curbstone anvil has to hit at a velocity of about 16 ft/sec (4.8 m/sec), which typically means the helmet must drop almost 4 feet (1.2 m). Record the peak acceleration of each impact. Drop helmets 1 through 4 on the schedule above each a total of 4 times, twice on the flat anvil and twice on the hemispherical anvil, so that the helmets hit each time on or above the impact test line you drew on the helmet. Make sure that a different part of the helmet hits the anvil each time. This means that you must adjust the headform after each drop. The center of any part of the helmet that hits the anvil during a test must be at least 4.72 inches (120 mm) away from the center of any other point on the helmet that has already hit an anvil in an earlier test. Drop helmets 5 through 8 one time each on the curbstone anvil, so that each helmet hits on or above the impact test line.

 

How do I know if a helmet fails the impact attenuation test?

A helmet fails the test if any of the samples tested under any of the conditions described above shows a peak acceleration of more than 300 g.

 

Are there requirements that cover projections on the inside or outside of a helmet?

Yes. A projection that extends more than 0.28 inches (7 mm) from the outside surface of a helmet must break away or collapse when you hit it with the same force that the helmet receives when you test it for impact attenuation. The inside surface of a helmet may not have any projection that extends more than 0.08 inches (2 mm) inside the helmet.

 

What are the requirements of the peripheral vision test?

To make sure that a helmet does not block a rider’s side vision, a helmet must let the rider see without interference for at least 105° on either side of the center of his or her face. Please see §1203.14 for the test to determine whether a helmet meets this requirement.

 

What is the test for positional stability to keep the helmet from coming off during a fall?

Mount a headform designed with a full chin on a test fixture so that the face of the headform faces downward at 45°. Attach the helmet to the headform correctly and tighten the straps to remove any slack. Attach a cable or strap to the back of the helmet with a hook, and run the cable or strap over the middle of the top of the helmet. Attach the other end of the strap to a test fixture made of a steel rod at least 2 feet long (0.6 m) that runs through the middle of a circular sliding 8.8 pound (4 kg) weight and ends in a bottom anvil that will stop the weight when it drops. See Figure below for a diagram of the test apparatus.

Raise the weight 2 feet (0.6 m) and drop it so that it hits the anvil. After testing the headform face down, run the same test with the headform facing up. Please see §1203.15 for more detail about this test.

Bicycle Headform

 

When does a helmet pass the positional stability test?

The helmet must not come off of the headform when the weight is dropped 2 feet (0.6 m) onto the bottom anvil.

 

What requirements are there for instructions and labeling for bicycle helmets?

  1. Every bicycle helmet must have instructions telling riders how to make sure the helmet fits properly and how to wear it properly. The instructions must include a picture showing the proper way to wear the helmet.
  2. Every bicycle helmet must be marked with the following information so that it is legible and clearly visible:
    1. The model number or designation.
    2. A warning that no helmet can protect against all possible impacts, and that death or serious injury could happen.
    3. A warning that, for maximum protection, the helmet must fit the rider’s head properly, and that the rider must properly put the helmet on and hook the straps together, following the manufacturer’s instructions. This warning must also be on the package of the helmet.
    4. A warning that a helmet that has received an impact may be damaged so much that it no longer protects the rider, and that such damage may not be visible. This warning should tell the user to return to the manufacturer any helmet that has received such an impact, or to destroy and replace it.
    5. A warning that common cleaners such as ammonia, bleach, etc. may damage the helmet and that such damage may not be visible. This warning should list the most common cleaners or other products that can damage the helmet, and warn against using those cleaners. It should also generally tell consumers how to clean the helmet and what cleaners to use, and should refer them to the instruction manual for more detail.

    All of the warnings above must start with the word “Warning” in capital letters and bold type. See §1203.6 for more specific information on the labeling requirements.

  3. Each bicycle helmet must have a label certifying that the helmet meets the requirements of this standard. The label must include:
    1. a specific statement that the helmet complies with the standard;
    2. the name, address, and telephone number of the manufacturer or importer issuing the certificate, or of the private labeler of the helmet;
    3. the name and address of the foreign manufacturer, if the helmet was manufactured outside the U.S., and
    4. information, such as a serial number, that allows you to identify the production lot of the helmet, and the month and year the helmet was manufactured.

Please see §1203.34 for more information about where you should place these labeling statements on the helmet.

 

What are the requirements for testing helmets to certify them?

The certifications that manufacturers and importers issue must be based on a reasonable testing program of the helmets. Certification testing assures that all helmets produced for sale perform effectively. Rather than testing helmets themselves, importers may rely on tests performed by foreign manufacturers if the importer is a resident of the U.S. or has a resident agent in the U.S, the importer has examined the records of the tests to determine that the test records have all of the information required by §1203.41 of the regulation, and the importer can provide those records to the Commission within 48 hours of a request from the Commission staff.

 

Are there any recordkeeping requirements?

Yes. Manufacturers and importers must keep records of all tests performed on helmets to determine whether they comply with the requirements. You must keep the record for at least 3 years after the date of certification of the last bicycle helmet in each production lot that has been tested. If you do not have a copy of the records to give to the Commission staff at the time you receive a request, you must be able to provide the records within 48 hours. Please see §1203.41 for more detail on what information you must include in the records.

 

Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for bicycle helmets, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Compliance (for specific enforcement inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.
  • Small Business Ombudsman (for general assistance understanding and complying with CPSC regulations): e-mail: Please use our Contact Form, which is the best way to get a fast response; telephone: (888) 531-9070.

This communication has been prepared for general informational purposes only.  This summary document does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice nor does it replace or supersede a manufacturer’s obligations to comply with all applicable laws, regulations, standards, or bans enforced by CPSC. This communication has not been reviewed or approved by the Commission, and does not necessarily represent their views. Any views expressed in this communication may be changed or superseded by the Commission.

Category: 
Business Guidance