

U.S. CONSUMER PRODUCT SAFETY COMMISSION 4330 EAST WEST HIGHWAY

BETHESDA, MD 20814

COMMISSIONER JOSEPH P. MOHOROVIC

March 18, 2015

The Honorable Harold Rogers

Chairman

Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives

H-305 Capitol

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey

Ranking Member

Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives

1016 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ander Crenshaw

Chairman

Subcommittee on Financial Services and General

Government

Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives

B-300 Rayburn House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable José E. Serrano

Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Financial Services and General

Government

Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives

1016 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Thad Cochran

Chairman

Committee on Appropriations

United States Senate S-128 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski

Vice Chairwoman

Committee on Appropriations

United States Senate S-146A Capitol Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Boozman

Chairman

Subcommittee on Financial Services and General

Government

Committee on Appropriations

United States Senate

133 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Christopher Coons

Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Financial Services and General

Government

Committee on Appropriations

United States Senate

125 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairmen Rogers, Cochran, Crenshaw, and Boozman, Vice Chairwoman Mikulski, and Ranking Members Lowey, Serrano, and Coons:

Thank you for the opportunity for the CPSC to report the status of the third-party testing burden relief required by Public Law 112-28, enacted in 2011. I write separately from my colleague, Chairman Kaye, because I believe this vital work is languishing, at the expense of consumers. This report takes only timid steps toward the few opportunities it explores, and there are myriad areas it does not address, including one delineated in the letter Chairman Kaye and I sent to Chairman Thune.

I spent the better part of a decade working in the consumer product testing industry. I have first-hand familiarity with both the technical challenges and the legal restrictions we face in finding areas where we can

Letter of Commissioner Joseph P. Mohorovic to Committees on Appropriations

Re: Third-Party Testing Burden Reduction

March 18, 2015 Page 2 of 2

lighten business' regulatory burden in ways that do not compromise consumers' health or safety. And while I understand those are not insignificant hurdles, I believe they can be readily overcome. We only have to decide to do so.

We have the technical skill, financial resources, and legal flexibility to enact meaningful changes immediately through guidance policy. We have the expertise to supplement those with more fundamental changes over time through rulemaking. And we have the support of responsive committees of jurisdiction to revise our statutes where necessary. What we lack is the conviction, instead preferring to spend our time and the taxpayers' money half-heartedly on half-measures.

There is no question the report reflects thoughtful, deliberative work on the part of our staff. However, given how many stones we are not turning over – and how cautiously we have peeked under the few we are – it also reflects, I fear, a lack of will on the part of the Commission to take this responsibility as seriously as any other before us.

I hope that time will prove my fears unfounded, that the prospects tentatively sketched in this report will bear fruit and we will look for further opportunities. I know that our staff can provide us good answers, if only the Commission asks the questions, but I am uncertain that we will.

Sincerely,

Joseph P. Mohorovic

Commissioner

Cc: The Honorable John Thune, Chairman

The Honorable Bill Nelson, Ranking Member

The Honorable Jerry Moran, Chairman

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal, Ranking Member

The Honorable Fred Upton, Chairman

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr., Ranking Member

The Honorable Michael Burgess, M.D., Chairman

The Honorable Jan Schakowsky, Ranking Member

The Honorable Elliot Kaye, Chairman

The Honorable Robert Adler, Commissioner

The Honorable Marietta Robinson, Commissioner

The Honorable Ann Marie Buerkle, Commissioner