联邦法律规定,双层床要符合双层床标准和其它要求,包括 2008年的《美国消费品安全改进法》的要求。

 

在双层床由美国消费品委员委员会认可的第三方实验室 检验合规后,儿童双层床的生产商和进口商必须经由儿童产品证书认证该双层床符合标准和其它要求。

 

成人双层床生产商和进口商必须经由一般合格证书(GCC) 证明该双层床在接受检测或合理的检测程序之后,符合标准, 以确保合规。这些要求在下面和

www.cpsc.gov/BusinessEducation网站上有讨论。
 

什么是双层床? 

双层床是一种床板下缘高出地面30英寸以上的床。床板为放置 床垫提供基础或支持。双层床的两端是床头和床尾的直立部分,与侧梁相连接。

 

双层床规则的目的是什么? 


本法规的目的是防止儿童由于卡在上铺和墙之间,护栏下面的开口,或者双层床两端的开口造成的死伤风险。

 

我在哪里可以找到有关双层床的要求? 


查询《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1213获取有关承认双人床的要求;查询《联邦法规》16 CFR Part 1513获取儿童双人床的要求。

 

双层床规则有何要求? 


护栏: 

 

1. 双层床必须至少有两个上铺护栏,两侧至少各有一个护栏。床板距离地面30英寸或30英寸以下的下铺无需有护栏。


2. 在床靠墙一侧的护栏或在梯子对面的护栏必须从床头到床尾连续不断。如果护栏与床的一端不相连,那么护栏的尾端和距离最近的双层床末端之间的空隙不得超过0.22 英寸。

 

3. 床侧不靠墙那一侧的护栏无须从床头到床尾连续不断,但是护栏任意一端和距离最近的床端之间的距离不得超过15英寸。


4. 护栏与双层床之间必须用紧固装置连接,在解除紧固装置之前护栏不能被移除,或者护栏或紧固装置必须设计成可以向两个或多个方向移动,先后操作,才能被解除。

 

5. 护栏顶部至少要超出床垫顶端5英寸。

 

当上铺没有床垫时,护栏底部和床板上部之间的任何空间不得让楔形块自由通过。参见下面的楔形块图示。

 

双层床两端:
 

1. 在床板之上的上铺任何一端不得有能够让楔形块自由通过的开口。 

 

2. 当使用生产商推荐的最厚的床垫和床板时,上铺头尾两端的顶部必须高出床垫至少5英寸,这个5英寸的安全高度必须在头尾两端的两对角柱之间至少覆盖一半的长度。

 

3. 在上铺床板之下,以及在下铺床板之上的下铺床头板或床尾板上的开口不得允许楔形块自由通过,除非这个开口也允许一个坚硬的9英寸球体自由通过。

 

4. 如果开口允许一个坚硬的9英寸球体自由通过,上铺床板下方的下铺床头板或床尾板在经过楔形块检测的同时,也必须检测颈部卡住的风险。

 

如何对双层床进行卡住风险检测? 

 

参见《联邦法规》16 CFR §§ 1213.4和1513.4,获取有关检测双层床的详细信息。

 

在床上没有床垫的情况下,使用楔形块探测护栏和上铺床板之间的间距,以及上下铺两端的开口。将楔形块放在最可能通过那个空间或开口的位置,然后使用挂钩将楔形块的尖端拉到空间或开口里。当检测护栏和上床板之间的空间时,逐渐拉楔形块,保持33尺磅的力度1分钟。

 

如果楔形块自由通过下铺头尾端的开口,尝试让一个直径为9英寸的硬球通过那个开口。如果球能自由通过,对开口进行颈部卡住检测。

 

在床板上放上最厚的床垫和床板之后重复这项检测。

 

如何进行颈部卡住检测? 

 

颈部卡住检测使用一个特别设计的、模拟儿童头部的探测装置,并且按照精确的程序插入每一处开口。鉴于执行这项检测设计的繁多细节,这里不对检测程序进行总结。更多详细信息,请参见《联邦法规》16 CFR §1213.4(c)(3) or 或1513.4(c)(3),或者与合规办公室联系。

 

是否有双层床适用的标准? 


ASTM F1427-13,名为《双层床标准消费者安全规范》的自愿性标准涵盖双层床设计和性能的其它要求。

 

对双层床是否还有其它要求? 


有。儿童双层床不得有锐利尖头和边缘。(参见《联邦法规》16 CFR §1500.48和《联邦法规》16 CFR §1500.49。这些要求无需第三方检测。)
 

2008年《美国消费品安全改进法》对双层床还有哪些其它要求? 

 

为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计和供其使用的双层床要符合表面涂层要求、铅和邻苯二甲酸盐含量限制、检测和认证、以及追踪标签要求。这些要求在下面讨论:

 

表面涂层限制:儿童双层床的使用油漆中的铅含量不得超过90ppm(0.009%)。

 

铅含量限制:儿童双层床任何可接触部件的总铅含量不得超过100ppm(0.01%)。

 

邻苯二甲酸酯含量限制:鉴于双层床下铺可以用于帮助三岁或三岁以下儿童睡眠,儿童双层床不得含有超过0.1%的以下邻苯二甲酸酯:邻苯二甲酸二(2-乙基己基)酯(DEHP)、邻苯二甲酸二正丁酯(DBP)、或者邻苯二甲酸丁基苄酯(BBP)。另外,它们不得含有超过0.1%的邻苯二甲酸二异壬酯(DINP)、邻苯二甲酸二异葵酯(DIDP)、或者邻苯二甲酸二正辛酯(DnOP),只要禁止这三种邻苯二甲酸酯的临时法定禁令继续有效就不可以。 

 

检测与认证:像所有为12岁或12岁以下儿童设计并以他们为主要使用者的产品一样,儿童双人床必须经过消费品安全委员会认可的第三方合规检测机构的检测,确保产品符其适用的儿童产品安全要求。在检测基础上,儿童双层床的国内生产商(或进口商)必须出具一份儿童产品证书,说明产品符合这些要求。成人双层床需要出具一般合格证书。一般合规证书是基于对每件产品的检测或一个合理的检测项目,认证产品符合本委员会所执行的法律之下的所有法律条款、法规、规则、禁令或标准。  

 

追踪标签:双层床要求需要具体的警告标识和提供生产商或进口商名称、地址、型号以及生产年月的标签或标记。同样,《消费品安全法》Section 14(a)(5)部分要求儿童产品及其包装需要带有追踪标签或其它明显的永久性标识。追踪标签在可行的范围内,需要具备基本信息,包括产品来源、生产日期和批次信息,例如批次号或者序列号。由于标签要求的相似性,可以使用符合所有条件的单一标签。此外,双层床必须注明或标出合适的床垫大小和厚度的说明,并包含安全使用的特定警告。

 

我在哪里可以得到更多的信息? 

 

 如果需要更多双层床规定的信息,请联络美国消费品安全委员会:

 

合规办公室(有关具体执行问题):电邮:sect15@cpsc.gov;电话:(301)504-7520。

 

小企业监察员(一般帮助,理解和遵守美国消费品安全委员会的规定):电邮:请使用我们的联络表格,这是获得快速回应的最佳方法。电话:(888) 531-9070。

 

 

本文仅为提供一般信息而准备, 内容是在所提供的事实和信息基础上编写。本文不是,其原意也不是提供法律见解, 也未经过委员会的审阅或批准,因此不一定代表委员会的意见。本文表达的所有观点都有可能被委员会改写或取而代之。

Bunk Beds Business Guidance

CPSC business guidance for manufacturers and importers regarding compliance with the full-size crib standard and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

Federal law requires that bunk beds comply with the bunk bed standard and with additional requirements, including those of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA).

Manufacturers and importers of children's bunk beds must certify in a Children's Product Certificate (CPC) that the bunk beds comply with the standard and the additional requirements after the bunk beds have been tested for compliance at a CPSC-accepted, third party laboratory.

 

Manufacturers and importers of adult bunk beds must certify in a General Certificate of Conformity (GCC) that the bunk beds comply with the standard after the bunk beds have been subjected to testing or a reasonable testing program to ensure compliance. All of these requirements are reviewed in greater detail atwww.cpsc.gov/cpsia.

 

What is a bunk bed?

A bunk bed is a bed with the bottom of its mattress foundation more than 30 inches above the floor. The mattress foundation is the base or support on which you place the mattress. The ends of a bunk bed are the upright parts at the head and foot of the bed to which you attach the side rails.

 

What is the purpose of the bunk bed rule?

This rule seeks to prevent the risk of deaths and injuries of children from being trapped between an upper bunk and a wall, in openings below the guardrails, or in openings in the ends of bunk beds.

 

Where can I find the requirements for bunk beds?

The requirements for adult bunk beds can be found at 16 CFR Part 1213, and the requirements for children's bunk beds can be found at 16 CFR Part 1513.

 

What does the bunk bed rule require?

Guardrails:

  1. Bunk beds must have at least two upper bunk guardrails, with at least one rail on each side. Lower bunks with mattress foundations that are 30 inches or less from the floor do not have to have guardrails.
  2. The guardrail on the side of the bed next to a wall or on the side opposite to a ladder must run continuously from one end of the bed to the other. If the guardrail does not attach to an end of the bed, the gap between the end of the guardrail and the nearest end of the bunk bed cannot be greater than 0.22 inches.
  3. A guardrail on the side of the bed away from the wall does not have to run continuously from end to end of the bed, BUT the distance between either end of the guardrail and the end of the bed nearest to it cannot be greater than 15 inches.
  4. Guardrails must be attached to the bunk bed with fasteners that must be released before the rails can be removed, OR the rail or fastener must be designed to move in two or more different directions, one after the other, to release them.
  5. The tops of the guardrails must be no less than 5 inches above the top of the mattress.
  6. With no mattress on the upper bunk, any space between the bottom of the guardrail and the top of the mattress foundation must not let the wedge block pass through freely. See the illustration of the wedge block below.


Bunk Bed Ends:

  1. No opening in either end of the upper bunk that is above the mattress foundation can let the wedge block pass through freely.
  2. When the thickest mattress and mattress foundation recommended by the manufacturer are used, the top of each end of the upper bunk must extend at least 5 inches above the top of the mattress, and that 5-inch margin of safety must extend at least half of the distance between the corner posts of each end.
  3. No opening in the headboard or footboard of the lower bunk below the mattress foundation of the upper bunk and above the mattress foundation of the lower bunk shall permit the wedge block to pass through freely - UNLESS the opening also allows a rigid 9-inch sphere to pass through it freely.
  4. Any opening in the headboard or footboard of the lower bunk below the mattress foundation of the upper bunk tested with the wedge block must also be tested for the risk of neck entrapment if the opening lets the 9-inch sphere pass though freely.

 

How do you test a bunk bed for entrapment hazards?

For detailed information on testing bunk beds, see 16 CFR §§ 1213.4 and 1513.4.

With no mattress on the bed, use the wedge block to probe spaces between the guardrail and upper bunk mattress foundation and openings in the upper and lower bunk ends. Place the wedge in the position in which it is most likely to pass through the space or opening, and then use the hook to pull the nose of the wedge into the space or opening. When testing spaces between the guardrail and upper mattress foundation, pull the wedge gradually, and sustain a force of 33 foot-pounds for 1 minute.

If the wedge block passes through any opening in the lower bunk end freely, try to pass a 9-inch diameter rigid sphere through that opening. If the sphere passes through freely, test the opening for neck entrapment.

The test is repeated after positioning the thickest mattress and mattress foundation

 

How do you test for neck entrapment?

The test for neck entrapment uses a specially designed probe that simulates a child's head and is inserted into each opening according to a precise procedure. Because of the detail involved in performing the test, the test procedure is not summarized here. For more detailed information, please refer to 16 CFR §1213.4(c)(3) or §1513.4(c)(3), or contact the Office of Compliance.

 

Are there any standards that apply to bunk beds?

ASTM F1427-96, a voluntary standard titled, "Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Bunk Beds," contains other requirements for the design and performance of bunk beds.

 

Are there any additional requirements for bunk beds?

Yes. Bunk beds for children may not have sharp points or edges. (See 16 CFR §1500.48 and 16 CFR §1500.49. Third party testing is not required for these requirements.)

 

What are the additional requirements for bunk beds required by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008?

Bunk beds that are designed or intended for children 12 years of age or younger are subject to surface coating requirements, lead and phthalate content limits, testing and certification, and tracking label requirements. These requirements are discussed below:

  • Surface Coating Limit: Children's bunk beds may not be painted with paint that contains more than 0.009 percent lead.
  • Lead Content Limit: Children's bunk beds cannot contain greater than 100 ppm (0.01 percent) of total lead content in any accessible component part.
  • Phthalate Content Limits: Given that the bottom bunk of a bunk bed can be intended to facilitate sleep by children three and younger, children's bunk beds cannot contain more than 0.1% of the following phthalates: di-(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), or benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP). They also may not contain more than 0. 1 percent of (diisononyl phthalate (DINP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), or di-n-octyl phthalate (DnOP) while an interim statutory ban of these phthalates remains in effect.
  • Testing and Certification: Children's bunk beds, like all products that are designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age or younger, must be tested by an accredited and CPSC-accepted third party conformity assessment body for compliance with applicable children's product safety rules. Based on that testing, a domestic manufacturer (or importer) of children's bunk beds must issue a Children's Product Certificate (CPC) indicating that the product complies with those rules. Adult bunk beds require a General Certificate of Conformity (GCC). A GCC is a document that certifies, based on a test of each product or a reasonable testing program, that the product complies with all statutes, regulations, rules, bans, or standards under any law enforced by the Commission.
  • Tracking Labels: Bunk bed requirements call for a specific warning label AND a label or marking that provides the name and address of the manufacturer or importer, model number, and month and year of manufacture. Similarly, Section 14(a)(5) of the CPSA requires a children's product and its packaging to have a tracking label or other distinguishing permanent mark. The tracking label, to the extent practical, requires basic information, including the source of the product, date of manufacture, and cohort information, such as a batch or run number. Due to the similarities of the label requirements, a single label that meets all the combined criteria may be used. In addition, bunk beds must be marked or labeled with instructions giving the proper size and thickness of the mattress and containing the specific warnings for safe use.



Where can I find additional information?

For more information on the requirements for bunk beds, contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission:

  • Office of Education, Global Outreach, & Small Business Ombudsman (Assistance in Understanding and Complying with CPSC Regulations): e-mail: Business@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7999.
  • Office of Compliance (Enforcement Inquires): e-mail: sect15@cpsc.gov; telephone: (301) 504-7520.

To obtain copies of ASTM F1427-96, contact ASTM International at: www.astm.org or via telephone: (610) 832-9585.